• LinkedIn - Black Circle
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

What's a PropTech?

Three to four years ago nobody really knew what a PropTech was, mainly because the definition is often described as vague. Based on the words property technology, if we were to simplify the definition, we could say that a PropTech has as a sole purpose, to improve the real estate sector through digital

transformations by using new technologies. We have entered an era of modernization, where the use of said new technologies has become a common thing and the word and the meaning of a PropTech has taken a new turn. But, every so often, people still confuse PropTechs with other forms of companies (Fintech, HealthTech, AdTech…) and don’t know that PropTechs are specific to the real estate market.

In short, PropTechs, such as VRnow, are innovative companies that have as a business model the goal to optimize processes and services in the real estate market. The real estate market is known for being a ‘pen and paper’ business, often relying on inefficient and “old school” methods for doing business and keeping records, technology has begun to help reshape the industry. PropTechs offer their services in many different forms, it can be software, hardware (drones, sensors), materials (improved solar panels) and a lot more.

Market and goals

Why are big companies interested in PropTechs? There are a lot of things to gain from the automatization processes PropTechs are offering. Because PropTechs are considering technological and mentality changes in the real estate industry, their evaluation and analysis are often accurate and are very well integrated into the current trends and needs – in this case – of the real estate industry. For an example at VRnow we are able, by monitoring the markets needs and new consumptions patterns, to help big companies to have a more transparent, accurate and efficient way of dealing with the different processes in the real estate life cycle. The gains are endless but can be narrowed down to three main pillars:

  • revenue maximizations (through cost savings)

  • time-saving

  • better plannability

Quick summary

There are a lot of sectors in the real estate life cycle and PropTechs are trying to find meaningful solutions for all of them, these are the main areas:

  • Construction management

  • Planning and development

  • Property Management including service

      and facility management

  • Evaluation

  • Selling, renting and purchasing

  • Investing

 

Our algorithm can be used throughout the whole real estate life cycle, beginning from the construction management to the tenancy of buildings. With the use of the automatization process, companies can save 12-13% of the total costs of renovation or service requests, mainly because they can reduce their budgets on building planners as they get a complete and transparent overview of all their assets.

These automatization processes are only happening because of new technologies. In the last couple of years, they have proven to be crucial to improve efficiency in already established markets, these are the technologies and tools PropTechs are mostly focusing on:

  • Smart buildings/IoT

  • Big Data

  • AI (deep-learning and machine-learning)

  • Blockchain

  • VR and AR

  • Robotics and drones

  • 3D printing

Whereas PropTechs are solely concentrated on the digitization of the real estate sector, there are a lot of other kinds of companies who are digitizing other markets like FinTechs for an example, who are concentrated on the financial market. Even though they are all very different they work closely together, mainly because all of these companies are focused on the same thing: the automatization and digitization of business processes mainly in order to revolutionize and optimize workflows.

• LinkedIn - Black Circle
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Was ist ein PropTech?

Hätte man diese Frage vor drei bis vier Jahren gestellt, vor allem, weil die Definition oft als vage beschrieben wird. Das Wort selbst basiert auf "Immobilientechnologie" (‘property technology‘). Vereinfacht kann man sagen, dass ein PropTech als einziges Ziel hat, den Immobiliensektor durch die

Die Themen im Überblick:​

digitale Transformationen unter Einsatz neuer und innovativer Technologien zu verbessern.

Dennoch werden PropTechs ab und an immer noch mit anderen Unternehmensformen wie zum Beispiel FinTechs, HealthTechs oder AdTechs verwechselt und das Wissen, dass PropTechs auf die Immobilienbranche spezialisiert sind, ist noch nicht ganz verbreitet. Kurz gesagt, PropTechs, wie Convaron, sind innovative Unternehmen, die als Geschäftsmodell das Ziel haben, Prozesse und Dienstleistungen im Immobilienmarkt zu optimieren. Der Immobilienmarkt, der als "Stift- und Papiergeschäft" bekannt ist und sich oft auf ineffiziente und "old school"-Methoden für Geschäfte und Aufzeichnungen stützt, hat jetzt begonnen mit Hilfe von neuen Technologien in der Branche umzudenken. PropTechs bieten ihre Dienstleistungen in vielen verschiedenen Formen an, z.B. als Software, Hardware (Drohnen, Sensoren), Materialien (verbesserte Solarmodule) und vieles mehr.

PropTech: Markt und Ziele

Warum interessieren sich große Unternehmen für PropTechs? Es gibt viele Vorteile durch die Automatisierungsprozesse, die PropTechs anbieten. Da PropTechs technologische und mentale Veränderungen in der Immobilienwirtschaft berücksichtigen, sind ihre Bewertungen und Analysen oft genau und sehr gut in den aktuellen Trends und Bedürfnissen - in diesem Fall der Immobilienwirtschaft - integriert. Z.B. durch die Überwachung von Transaktionen und neuen Konsummustern ermöglicht Convaron großen Unternehmen einen transparenteren, genaueren und effizienteren Umgang mit den verschiedenen Prozessen im Immobilienlebenszyklus. Die Gewinne sind endlos, lassen sich aber auf drei Säulen beschränken:

  • Umsatzmaximierung (u.a. durch Kosteneinsparung)

  • Zeitersparnis

  • Bessere Planbarkeit

Kurze Zusammenfassung

Es gibt viele Sektoren im Immobilienlebenszyklus und PropTechs versuchen, sinnvolle Lösungen für alle zu finden. Die Hauptbereiche sind Folgende:

  • Immobilienmanagement

  • Baumanagement

  • Planung und Entwicklung

  • Bewertung

  • Verkaufen, Kaufen, Mieten

  • Investitition

Unser Algorithmus kann über den gesamten Immobilienlebenszyklus eingesetzt werden, vom Baumanagement bis zur Vermietung von Gebäuden. Mit dem Einsatz des Automatisierungsprozesses können Unternehmen 12-13% der Gesamtkosten für Renovierungs- oder Serviceanfragen einsparen, vor allem weil sie ihre Budgets für Gebäudeplaner reduzieren können, da sie schon einen vollständigen und transparenten Überblick über alle ihre Anlagen erhalten.

Neue Technologien im Immobilienmarkt

 

In den letzten Jahren haben sich neue Technologien als entscheidend erwiesen, um die Effizienz in bereits etablierten Märkten zu verbessern. Folgende sind die Technologien und Werkzeuge, auf die PropTechs ihren Fokus legen:

Während sich PropTechs ausschließlich auf die Digitalisierung des Immobiliensektors konzentrieren, gibt es viele andere Arten von Unternehmen. FinTechs z.B. digitalisieren den Finanzmarkt und HealthTechs entwickeln die Gesundheitstechnik. Auch wenn sie in unterschiedlichen Branchen agieren, arbeiten sie eng zusammen. Vor allem, weil alle diese Unternehmen sich auf dasselbe konzentrieren: die Automatisierung und Digitalisierung von Geschäftsprozessen, um Arbeitsabläufe zu revolutionieren und optimieren.